Question by KungFu Ninja: Does this site look safe to order this camera from?
http://www.fotoelectronics.com/Qstore/Qstore.cgi?CMD=011&PROD=1097121756&PNAME=Canon+Powershot+S500+5MP+w%2F+1.5%27+LCD+Screen+OEM+Digital+ELPH+Camera+%28NEW%29
How can I be 100% sure? Is there somewhere i can check it a website is legit?
Best answer:
Answer by onesexysquirrel17
No. Anyone who sells cameras from a store called “foto” electronics may be kinda shady. Check out Ebay. They have amazing deals on there. Probablly better then that. I buy almost everything off ebay now.
Best Buy, Target or Walmart I’m sure would have better deals as well. Digital cameras aren’t that expensive any more. Shop around
What do you think? Answer below!
I saw a link on Amazon to that site. After doing some research, I found what lots of other answerers found. It’s not a reputable site. I almost wrote Amazon that they shouldn’t allow that site to link on their website. Buy from a reputable online merchant, not that one.
no 100% sure.
You can find this camera at a big store and buy it…
As Dr Sam advises above, I have included a direct link to this company’s ratings on resellerratings.com
The reviews I read seem to indicate that previous customers view them as a fraud.
Personally I would stay away.
Here you go: http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Avalon_Gadgets_Foto_Electronics Read the near-zero score and read a handful of reviews that start out with “Very Dissatisfied” before you deal with them.
This site looks like a liquidator of old stock or something. None of their Canon cameras are current models and the one you link to was introduced over 3½ years ago. They are selling it for way more than many current models that are much better.
They might be great to deal with and totally honest, but I doubt they sell much to anyone who knows what they are doing.
Dont buy from that site, doesnt look very legit…
if your not sure about it then don’t buy it. if you have drought about it now and then your gonna end up purchasing the camera you will not be satisfied with it no matter how cheep or expansive you gonna buy.
That looks heavily suspicious. Notice the “verified by visa” and “hacker-safe” seals are nothing more than gifs. (Not only gifs but shitty quality gifs too…looks like they couldn’t afford photoshop.) Choice of font is also suspect. I wouldn’t order there in a million years.
Order from a reputable online retailer like newegg. They’ve got higher models at a lower price than what was advertised on your site. Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Description=Canon+Powershot&x=0&y=0
No, not at all. There only form of contact is email only. They don’t even have a business address.
Here is a link that is a red flag….
http://www.fotoelectronics.com/Qstore/uploads/contactus.htm
No phone number or business address.
Doesn’t look good. Pretty generic. Inquire with pay pal.
Seriously, i wouldnt buy from that website. Your best bet is look on ebay or go and buy it from a shop.
Cheaper and Reliable:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8266164&st=Canon+Powershot+S500+5MP&type=product&id=1170290185654
seems okay. but y would u buy that camera? it ugly and fat